The Spiderman review

Image

 

I have a confession to make- I go to midnight showings of movies… a lot! It’s something I picked up from my good friend and fellow wollcott blog poster Dave. Don’t worry, we don’t dress up in costume or anything like that but we do go… and we do pay crazy money to see what Hollywood is up to.

Well, it happened again last night for the movie “The Amazing Spiderman”. I smuggled a bottle of water in as always and brought along my buddies Dave and Kirk to see the show.  Ever since I head they were rebooting the series I’ve had one thought- it’s just too soon!!! They should have put it on the shelf for another 10 years before they did this. For months I’ve seen the previews and I knew what they were trying to do, I knew they wanted to go darker. It’s what was done on the Batman films and Hollywood is trying to capitalize on their success from that project.

Andrew Garfield’s Spiderman is a bit darker, a bit more edgy, tons more mysterious than its previous actor Toby Maguire and he did a great job making you root for him. He’s more skater and less dork that is at least until he smiles. For sure, he was a good choice to replace a stale Tobey. But the story line was far from amazing in my mind. Boy gets picked on, boy meets girl, boy gets smitten and bitten, boy goes flying/skating (I loved the twist on that), boy beats bully, boy beats monster.

There were hardly any changes from the 2002 Spiderman; Other than a new girl, Gwen Stacy, and a new villain, Lizard man, you’ve already seen this movie.

Listen, I’m not saying it’s a bad movie, it’s not. It was fun it was exciting, but the story was very unoriginal. I would have much rather they picked up the story from after Spiderman 2. They could have used Gwen Stacy and Mary Jane and created emotional conflict for us the viewer. They could have used Lizard man if they wanted, but telling me the story of Uncle Ben and “responsibility” all over again was beyond predictable, it was boring.

There were moments of greatness though, the alarm clock smash was brilliant and the scene with flash and the basketball was genius. All the actors were top notch and the fight scenes were done well so it was not a waste of money.

Overall I give it 3 foursquare balls out of 5. If you’ve never seen the first one you should be good to go. If you have, drink lots of caffeine before you go.  

Stevo

 

About stevo8drum

Eagles!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

